

Her Excellency
Mrs. Angela Merkel
Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany
Bundeskanzleramt
Willy-Brandt-Straße 1
10557 Berlin - Germany

9 December 2020

## Joint MEP letter to Germany to suspend submarine export to Turkey

Dear Chancellor,

in the light of ongoing tensions in the Eastern Mediterranean, as Greek and German Members of the European Parliament we call on the German government to immediately suspend the export of German submarines, its components and spare parts as well as all related maintenance activities.

Our appeal follows the European Parliament's resolution of 17 September 2020 on Arms export: implementation of Common Position 2008/944/CFSP (para 17) which:

calls on the VP / HR, for as long as Turkey continues with its current illegal, unilateral actions in the Eastern Mediterranean that run counter to the sovereignty of any EU Member State (notably Greece and Cyprus) and international law, and does not engage in dialogue based on international law, to introduce an initiative in the Council for all EU Member States to halt arms export licensing to Turkey in accordance with the Common Position

Turkey's recent explorative activities for natural gas deposits has led to an escalation of a simmering dispute between Turkey and Greece over maritime rights in the Eastern Mediterranean Sea.

We are extremely concerned about Turkey's threats of military action against EU Member States in the Eastern Mediterranean and fear that Turkey could employ submarines produced in Germany in this conflict.

Therefore, we urge the German government to undertake urgent measures to suspend in relation to Turkey the export of submarines, its components and spare parts - largely produced by German Thyssen Krupp Marine Systems and assembled in Turkey – as well as related maintenance.

Yours sincerely,

Hannah Neumann, MEP

House Nerman

Maria Spyraki, MEP



Rasmus Andresen, MEP Gabriele Bischoff, MEP Reinhard Bütikofer, MEP Udo Bullmann, MEP Delara Burkhardt, MEP Patrick Brever, MEP Anna Cavazzini, MEP Anna Deparnay-Grunenberg, MEP Özlem Demirel, MEP Cornelia Ernst. MEP Romeo Franz, MEP Daniel Freund, MEP Evelyne Gebhardt, MEP Jens Geier, MEP Sven Giegold, MEP Henrike Hahn, MEP Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana, MEP Petra Kammerevert, MEP Dietmar Köster, MEP Constanze Krehl, MEP Bernd Lange, MEP Katrin Langensiepen, MEP Erik Marquardt, MEP Martina Michels, MEP Ulrike Müller, MEP Norbert Neuser, MEP Niklas Nienaß, MEP Maria Noichl, MEP Jutta Paulus, MEP Manuela Ripa, MEP Martin Schirdewan, MEP Joachim Schuster, MEP Helmut Scholz, MEP Birgit Sippel, MEP Tiemo Wölken, MEP

Nikos Androulakis, MEP Konstantinos Arvantis. MEP Anna-Michelle Asimakopoulou, MEP Emmanoil Fragkos, MEP Alexis Georgoulis, MEP Eva Kaili, MEP Manolis Kefalogiannis, MEP Petros Kokkalis, MEP Stelios Koulouglou, MEP Elena Kountoura, MEP Stelios Kympouropoulos, MEP Georgios Kyrtsos, MEP Vangelis Meimarakis, MEP Dimitrios Papadimoulis, MEP Elissavet Vozemberg-Vrionidi, MEP Theodoros Zagorakis, MEP